LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ROI for Edge Detection

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all, this is my first time posting on these forums, so please bear with me.

I have been working on a machine vision project that utilizes edge detection of a chip to check its alignment in a larger part, as part of a quality assurance project for my company. I have noticed that I get much better results for some regions of interest when I rotate the ROI by 180 degrees, and flip the search direction. For example, if I was searching for rising edges in a "top to bottom" direction, I could possibly get a higher score for the line that is found by rotating the ROI 180 degrees and searching "bottom to top". Theoretically, this should not make any difference and should produce the same results. I am also not seeing a pattern in which ROIs would be better off rotated, and which ones I should leave un-rotated; I can only test each one individually. Does anyone know why this is happening? Is it possibly something in the algorithm that makes a particular search direction better than others?

Unfortunately, I cannot post my code, as it is proprietary, but please let me know if you have further questions.

Thank you,

raoviswa

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,987 Views)

Would you be able to post any images for which you see this behavior and describe where the ROI would be if you cannot directly post any code?

Matt J | National Instruments | CLA
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,912 Views)

Hi Matt,