LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RMS sliding window

Hi Everyone

I am calculating the RMS from a 50 sample window (sampling rate 1000Hz). I am using the Biosignal RMS.vi but I want to change the window to use 25 samples before and 25 samples after the point I want  to calculate. I am still new to labview and have been running in circles a little. Help is appreciated! I have attached the VI I am using along with some sample data.

Thanks again!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,321 Views)

Hi DaveSA,

I'm not sure this is possible using just this particular VI.  You could however do this by making presamples in an array and putting postsamples on the end of the presamples. You might try using a while loop and "Replace Array" to cycle through sets of 25 samples and when you want to read, grab the latest 25 samples in your array and throw the next specificied 25 samples (using the Biosignal RMS.vi) on the end of your presamples.

David H.
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(3,268 Views)

This is basically the same answer David gave you, but stated a little differently.  Consider what you want to do, namely take n RMS value of a 50-sample sliding window.  Let's say your total number of samples is 100.  How many 50-second sliding windows can you "fit"?  The answer is 100 - 50 = 50 (because the first window has Samples 1 to 50, and the 50'th has samples 51 to 100 -- any more windows won't have 50 samples).