cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quirk In My Analog Input Signal

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to LabView so bear with me. I have an issue with my analog input signals and I can't figure out where it is. Regardless of my sampling rate via the DAQ Assistant, I'll get pockets of "constant" values in my signal. This shows up in my measurement file that I'm writing to, and viewing in real time might I add, as plateaus in my data. Attached is a matlab plot of 10k data points acquired at a sample rate of 5kHz. This should be a fairly smooth analog signal but it's not. This data is simply literal voltage over time. I use a voltage divider to cut the signal so it's in reading range of the DAQ then post process it back up to its original value. I have two other channels that show the same anomaly. The "batches" of constant data are acquired every 0.155s. Confirmed this after analyzing measurement files for 5kHz acquisition and 2kHz acquisition. 

I have also attached my VI. It's not very complicated which is why I'm frustrated that I can't find where the problem is coming from. Is it a timing thing? The DAQ is acquiring at 5kHz and I'm reading 500 samples per loop with a 100ms wait on the loop. I should be reading every sample acquired every second.

Any ideas and thoughts are appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Matt

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,001 Views)

Couple of questions:

- What are the units for the graph you attached

- What hardware are you using

Some possible things which jump to mind. Neither seem overly likely though I do admit.

- The steps that you are seeing is actually the maximum resolution of your hardware although I think this is unlikely

- Your hardware has a slow maximum sampling rate, this is typical for some thermocouple cards for example