LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about reading hex data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello! I am a Labview Novice and having a problem about reading hex data.

Basically I am having bytes from the serial port like this: "80100E0E0AB4F646F24A00911267087E032080057FFF "

It is not encoded in ASCII. What I want to do is to convert the hex to an ASCII hex string.

so that the string would become hex numbers in ASCII.

I think the following might be a solution, but I have no idea what the subvi is in the solution.

http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Hex-String-to-Ascii-Hex-String/m-p/886078/highlight/true#M400462

Thanks in advance and I appreciate your kind help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,026 Views)

Are you now saying that the data is coming in differently from what you described in your first post?  http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/data-type-problem/td-p/2494434

Attach a VI where you have the actual data that comes inf rom the device saved in a string control.  Save the data as the default data for the control.  Save the VI.  Attach your VI to the post.

Is your data supposed to be U32 integers like you have in your original post?

Try wiring your string data to a typecast function with a U32 array wired into the top of it to define the datatype.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,023 Views)

RIght, my last post is the second part of the solution to the problem. 

I have difficulty obtaining the data at the moment, as I don't have access to the instruments this week.

What I have is bytes of data, each byte corresponds to 2 numbers, each number having 4 bits to be represented, which means 2^4 = 16. 
So each of my byte stores 2 hex integer. My string is like this:

"80100E0E0AB4F646F24A00911267087E032080057FFF"

80 and 10 are the heading byte, which means start of transmission.

0E0E is my first set of data, magnetic field in x direction, which should be interpreted as 3598 in decimal