From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pulling serial data from Arduino, running into problems

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm very new to Labview and I'm looking for some insight into an error here.

I have an Arduino running some very simple code that pulls some measurements off of a pair of devices and stores the latest values. When sent a query from my Labview VI it responds with the requested data, pressure data for a '1' and flow data for a '2'. I need to make sure that I first request data, then wait for the whole 4 byte float to arrive before reading and plotting.

Right now I have the block diagram organized by having the Serial write function send the query, then I sit in a while loop delaying until 4 bytes of data have arrived before reading the data, processing, and graphing. I do this twice per loop, once for the flow data and once for pressure.

The problem I have is that unless I add a significant delay into the "wait for data arrived" loops (wait for at least 10-20 ms) I sometimes get a zero being sent to the graph. I'm assuming that the read function is trying to read before the arduino has actually responded, but I'm not sure why adding a delay into those loops is necessary, or why it needs to be so long. Honestly I'm not at all sure the way I'm doing it is right at all, and I'd really appreciate any correction or advice from someone who actually knows what's going on.

I'm not allowed to attach .ino files but I can give the arduino code if needed.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,534 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Tarnarmour

Hi Tarnarmour,

when do people learn to NOT use BytesAtPort?

Simplified: