LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programming a RS232 interface to replace GPIB interface that is used to control a lock in amplifier SR830.

I've been recently tasked to program a RS232 interface to replace the current GPIB interface used to control a lock in amplifier. I did some research online and found that the SR830 driver supports only GPIB and not RS233. 

I'm suppose to modify the driver or rewrite another driver that supports  SR233.

However im fairly new to this and barely have any idea how to start. Can anyone point me the direction on how to do it?

Thanks alot for the help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,593 Views)

Assuming the driver was written using VISA, you just need to update/replace the initialization VI to set up a serial session instead of the GPIB.  This should include setting the baud rate, start bits, stop bits, etc.  Otherwise, as long as the command structures are the same, the rest will work just fine.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,546 Views)

What should i do in the case where the driver is not written in visa? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,533 Views)

Most of us don't have this Device to look at or to test.  We also don't have the Device Manual to read, and to understand how to use it using its Driver.  It does say that it supports GPIB and RS-232 (as far as I know, there is no "RS-233") -- presumably it sends text commands over a serial line.  This reference from NI might be helpful.

Consider attaching the Device Manual.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(2,526 Views)