LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programatically click latched button

I'm relatively new to LabVIEW so pardon my ignorance. I have a motor that moves when a 'Jog' button is clicked. The mechanical action of the button is set to Latch when Pressed.

I need to synchronize the motor movement with a data logging operation. I use a 'Save' button to start logging, which is set to Switch when Pressed. I want to start the motor movement x seconds after the logging starts. The flow I want is Run VI -> click Save -> wait for 2 seconds -> Jog automatically clicked -> Stop VI

How do I go about programming the click action for the 'Jog' button?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,257 Views)

It sounds like you are looking for Producer/Consumer architecture.

Note that you could add an additional timing loop taking care about automizing the 'real consumer'.

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,253 Views)

The 'Jog' button is part of a cluster which is an input to a SubVI that executes the motor movement. I'm not sure how to add a timing loop in this case.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,241 Views)

As you've probably discovered, Boolean Controls set to Latch (usually Latch when Released, but probably also Latch when Pressed) can't be programmatically "Clicked" (via a Property Node).  So a few questions:

• Do you want/need a Button to do the Jog, or will it start "automatically" after you push Save?
  • If "Save" runs the Jog, then you do not want a Jog "Button" (note -- a Jog indicator to show when Jog is running would be fine, and no problem).