From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Producer consumer continuous data retrieval and storage

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear all,

I am rather new in using Labview for sophisticated data acquisition and hope to not ask extremely stupid questions. What I am currently trying to do is the following:

I am working with a "Lidar" instrument which emits 500 laser pulses per second. From each laser pulse, I get an atmospheric return (time signal) which I sample with the niscope 5162 for 100 µs (50000 samples, 500 MHz sample rate, 8 bit). So my goal is just to store the data of each single laser pulse return on my HDD.

My first attempts ended in the attached .vi, which is principally saving the data very fast. But after a certain time (~1 minute) the memory runs full. 

So my question is, if there is an easy approach to get rid of that issue. E.g. using the laser trigger to start the acquisition of the 100µs and using the time to the next laser pulse to reinitialize the queue?

I hope that the explanation of my problem is reasonable and the you can provide help.

Any ideas are highly appreciated. 

All the best, Ben

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(659 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Witschas82

Hi Ben,

@Witschas82 wrote:

My first attempts ended in the attached .vi, which is principally saving the data very fast. But after a certain time (~1 minute) the memory runs full. 

Which function gives you the "memory full" error?

Does it also happen when you switch off the plotting in the XY graph?

Btw. you don't need to set the file position to "current", that's a no-op! (And some error handling regarding file access might be useful…)

Best regards,
GerdW