LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with driver for Thermotron 8800 in LabVIEW 8.0

I'm having trouble with the IVI driver for the Thermotron 8800 test chamber for use with LabVIEW 8.0. After downloading and installing, I am trying to run the 8800 example VI that it comes with. The problem is that the "initialize", "close", "get parameter name", etc. VI's are not there. I'm not sure if they should be there, with the IVI architecture. I am new to this. Any help will be greatly appreciated. 
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(4,193 Views)
Hi bskinner,

This driver is provided by Thermotron, so all of the information I have is from the README which is included with the driver download.  Basically, the driver they provide is only for LabWindows/CVI.  In order to use this driver in LabVIEW, it is necessary to convert LabWindows/CVI function panels to LabVIEW VIs.

In order to do this, you need to download and install the LabVIEW Interface Generator for LabWindows/CVI Instrument Drivers.  After you have installed this utility, you will have the menu option Tools->Instrumentation->Create VI Interface to CVI Instrument Driver.  Follow the steps in the wizard to convert the .fp file (Located in C:\TH8800\TH8800.fp by default) to a set of VIs.  You will then have to browse to the DLL in this same folder, and when prompted choose to continue with the current dll.

This will take a wile but will create VIs for each function, and place them in the instrument driver pallette.  Let us know if you have any trouble with the process and we can try to help.

Jason S.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
Message 2 of 17
(4,182 Views)
Thanks, Jason. I missed that readme somehow. Now when I go to create the drivers from the fp file, it asks for a ".sub file (IVI only)". I cannot find this file. When I continue the process without it, the vi's come out non-executable. Any thoughts?
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(4,173 Views)