cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem solving methode for VISA read timeout error

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I'm doing an internship and got called to repair a broken stepping motor drive, which controls different covers for a luminous measurement.

After fixing this problem I run the LabView program to test the whole functionality and the program stopped before it got to the motor control part.

My laptop doesn't have an serial port and on the measurement PC is only LabView RT + it isn't connected to any network, so I don't know any possibility to debug it. Of course they said, everything ran fine before the motor problem.

After implementing Error Handler in the Code I got the error -1073807339 VISA read timeout (Hex0xBFFF0015).
It occurs when it tries to read the measurement data from an National Light Research Radiometer ILT 1700, here is the code.

VISA Read.JPG

I'm new to VISA programming but for me everything seems to be right (baud rate, data bits etc.), but here is the manual for the ILT1700. So I just increased the timeout to 30 sec. Of course, it doesn't solve the Error.
So here is my Question: How can narrow down the problem? Is it the Radiometer, the PC with the LV Code or event the Cable which connects both?

Regards,
Lucas

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,834 Views)

Hi Lucas,

your device seems to use some very old RS232 communication style.

In the manual is talks about "RQS", while Wikipedia mentions "RTS"

Did you read chapters 2.2.5 and 6.1? Which settings do you use?

Do you have any other tool being able to talk with your device? Do you know how that other tool is setting up the COM port?

On your image:

Why don't you use AutoCleanup? There are hidden wires…

What's the point of the case structure? You can directly connect the error wire to the loop stop terminal, and you can switch the behaviour of that terminal…

You don't need to wire default values at SerialPortConfig.