cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem running two parallel while loops

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I am new to Labview and the is basically my first attempt. I am planning to acquire data from two weigh scales simultaneously through two different ports. When I run my attached program with the execution highlighted, the second loop gets a higher priority. How do I prevent this? Also, I get error codes when the execution gets to the step where data from Visa read is passed to Scan from String function. Please suggest the corrections to correct these issues.

PS: I have not yet connected it to the devices, thats why the connection properties for both the Ports are same at this time.

Regards,

Avi0111

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 95
(4,436 Views)

avi0111,

When a program runs differently under execution highlighting, it is usually a sign of some kind of timing problem.

In your case you have several timing problems.  You set Milliseconds to Wait on each loop.  Since you did not make your values default, the controls reset to zero, so I do not know what values you used. You then use the Tick count output from the Wait function as the Byte Count input to the VISA Read.  Did you look at those values?  I am getting 3200000 on my computer now and it changes on every iteration of the loops. Do you intend to wait for 3 million characters before the Read completes?  The default timeout for the VISA configure is 10 seconds. Since you cannot read 3 million characters in 10 seconds at 9600 baud, you will get a timeout error.  Since 10 seconds is probably larger than the milliseconds to wait values, the Wait functions will complete long before the Read times out.