LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem in Labview

Hello,

I am a French student in England, i am making an internship.

My objective is to develop a program in Labview but I have got problem, I do not know how to call a SubVI when I push a button in principal program, I would like have just 4 buttons in my principal program which allow call 4 subVI. I would be happy to receive any ideas or propositions in order to develop my reflections on this issue. 

Thank you very much

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,791 Views)

Hello Meratus,

The easiest way to perform this task is use four boolean buttons on the front panel.

Use the outputs of all buttons to build a boolean array.

convert the boolean array into number.

Then use the number to select the respective subVI from a case structure.

The whole code should be inside the while loop.

157+ CLDs & 9 CLA Trained
LabVIEW Training resources
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,783 Views)

Hey,

Simplest way: just place your subVI in an eventstructure (event on the button you want to use to start the subvi) and show the frontpanel of the VI. (VI properties -> show frontpanel)

Alternativ: check out the palette Application Control VIs and Functions. Detailed informatin here

Regards,

CMW..

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,775 Views)

Thank you very much for your answer,

But I do not know how I can build a boolean array, convert the boolean array into number.

How use the number to select the respective subVI from a case structure ?

My whole code is inside the while loop so it is okay for this part.

Kind regards

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(2,771 Views)

In case you want to follow the way with the case and the boolean array -> Build Array -> convert to number

btw. both functions are explained in the LV Help and can easily be found by searching

Regards,

CMW

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(2,754 Views)