LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Preferred NI system for Rocket Engine Development

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm pretty new to working with NI products, and have been using a CompactDaq chassis with various AO, voltage, thermocouple, and current measurement modules for benchtop testing of our pneumatic and engine subsystem testing needs.  This system was nice for rapid setup and a crash course on Labview programming-I relied on the DAQ Express functionality and simple logic.  For actually testing our engine, we'll need a more robust system spanning multiple  devices (high end pressure transducers, thermocouples, control regulators, valve actuation, and Coriolis flowmeters), microsecond IO control, and precision time synchronization (as opposed to relying on the Windows clock like with CompactDaq).  I believe a PXI build is most appropriate, but would love to hear what this forum can recommend.

Best,

Jack Oswald

Impulse Space Propulsion

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(911 Views)

Obviously PXI setup will be more robust and scalable.

I think your application is specialized such that selecting the HW has to go hand in hand with plans for SW development and detailed analysis of your requirements.

I would recommend reaching out to NI or NI partners to do this requirement analysis.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(907 Views)

For a more direct replacement for cDAQ would be a cRIO.  The cRIO platform uses a Linux RT OS and an FPGA backplane.  Using the FPGA, you can really get your timing down while the RT is useful for file IO, communications with other systems, and "slow" control loop.

GCentral