cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing 3D array to LabVIEW via Call Library Function Node

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I try to write a program in LabVIEW that retrieves data from a c dll function in form of a 3-D array.

In Detail (see attached file):

The dll function "getrawdata" produces the data I want to process. In my real project I don't have access to that function.

It is called by the dll function "handletest" or "matrixtest" where the data is processed. In LabVIEW I want to call the "handletest" or "matrixtest" function via a call library function node and visualize the processed data. But i can't figure out how to manage the data passing from the DLL to LabVIEW. In my real project there will be very many data points. The program should be able to handle at least 2'000'000 data points.

I studied the NI-example VI "External Code (DLL) Execution" and tried to copy the programm structure.

The function "handletest" is made in the prgramm structre of the example "3D-Array-Handle" of the mentioned example VI and "matrixtest" is made in the programm structure of the example "3-D Array".

However, in my project it is not possible to allocate memory by connecting an input array with the correct size to the call library function node. So I used the memory managmant functions as mentioned in the example VI.

But when I use these functions (DSNewPtr or DSNewHandle) inside the "matrixtest" function I keep getting access violation errors and LabVIEW crashes (actually sometimes the VI finishes without any errors when  "cols" and "lines" are small).

When I call "handletest" with LabVIEW, the output array does not contain any data.

I use LabVIEW 2015 on a Windows 7 32 Bit PC.

I hope I could clearly explain my problems and you can help me getting this to work!

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,249 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author partl