LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXI RT system: timing of data acquisition in control loop

Hi all,

I am quite new to RT systems, although I feel confident with Labview.

We have a new system, a PXI-8108 controller and a PXI-6221 M series daq card.

I am trying to set up a small real time control loop, reading one analog input voltage, one counter input (quadrature), and writing the duty cycle of a PWM signal on the other counter. The loop should run at 20 kHz, which should also be the sampling rate of the inputs. To accomplish this, I have set the analog input to hardware trigger and used the IO task as the timing source for the timed loop.

I have attached the sample project, where everything has been removed except for the IO tasks and some simple instrumentation to measure the timing.

I see that the timed loop runs at a frequency of about 10 kHz, instead of 20 kHz, and I do not understand why since the timing of the IO tasks seems not critical (3-5 µs each).

Another striking thing is the fact that I have to wait for one PWM period to complete before I can set a new duty cycle. This makes me change the PWM frequency from 20 kHz to 25 kHz and introduce an additional delay so that the cycle has time to complete. I believe that if the timing of the loop would be ok, this would not be needed as well.

And: Sometimes it happens that the timing of the whole thing goes totally mad, with great jitter in one or two of the IO tasks (up to 30 µs then). But I cannot reproduce that.

Could any of you gurus look into my code?

Thanks a lot.

Matthias

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,123 Views)

I suggest you to monitor the CPU load first. This should be possible via the VGA output.

Obviously you create a timing violation.

br

Christian

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,111 Views)

Hi,

thanks for your reply. I see

CPU 0: 75%

CPU 1: 8%

Should be ok, or?

Regards

Matthias

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(2,108 Views)

CPU load should be ok.