cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Output Sampling Rate and Loop Time

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi you guys,

I'm pretty new to LabVIEW and I have a probably stupid question. How do I control the output signal rate? For example, an IV sweep. Each while loop will output a voltage value (calculated from the direction and step size), but loop execution time may vary. So how do I keep an ACCURATE SWEEP RATE? You can input a sampling rate in DAQmx Timing VI, but how does it work with a loop(which is actually calculating the output value for each step)?  It's all a bit confusing... Thank you so much if anyone shed some light for me!! Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,898 Views)

First, describe what equipment you use. Most likely, there is no direct solution to your problem. The delays between setting the frequency and its actual change are not described and their stability is not guaranteed. The most reliable solution is to change the duration of the signal with constant frequent sampling

Labview 4.0, 5.0, 6.1, 8.6, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014
If you do not know something, ask me.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,877 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author alexalexalexalex

When doing I/O, it is (often) better to let the DAQ Hardware handle the timing issues rather than the PC/LabVIEW/While loop.  Thus if you want to output a frequency sweep, one method might be to first generate all of the points of the sweep (for example, you want to sweep from 10 to 1000 Hz over a period of 10 seconds, and you have a DAQ device that can output data at 10KHz, so you generate 10 * 10000 = 100,000 points representing the entire waveform, set you DAQ Output device to accept 100,000 points and output at 10KHz, feed it the points, and let it go!