cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OpenCV on NI1752 Smart Camera - VxWorks cross compilation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I would like to use opencv dll in labview to be used on my NI1752 smart camera.  I understand that I have to compile opencv for VxWorks.  Has anyone done this before?  Or has anyone compiled any library like OpenCV for VxWorks?  I am new to this and would appreciate any help..

Best,

Joe

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,084 Views)

Hi Joe,

I have not personally tried to compile OpenCV for VxWorks but from a quick search, the codebase for the OpenCV library has a lot of x86 assemblies which will make porting it to PowerPC processors like VxWorks very difficult. This forum post goes over this topic: https://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69494

Which functions are you looking to use? You can look at whether those are available with our Vision Development Module.

I hope this helps!

T. Le
Vision Product Support Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,017 Views)

While that discussion you link to is interesting, it is pretty outdated (2008). At least in respect to ARM support, OpenCV officially has an OpenCV4Android SDK with an armv7a architecture. So for the newer ARM based cRIO it should be possible to recompile the OpenCV libraries in the NI provided Eclipse IDE. And of course the same applies even more for the x86_64 based high end cRIOs.

A recompilation with the NI Linux Realtime specifc Eclipse toolchain is most likely unavoidable and there are most likely some additional config changes that need to be done to the make/configure scripts to make it all work.

You are in so far correct that porting of the OpenCV library to the PowerPC/VxWorks based cRIOs is most likely a herculean undertaking with little prospect for success. 

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
Message 3 of 10
(4,009 Views)

@rolfk wrote: