LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Obtaining data from charge amplifier

Hello all,

I am new to LabView and was hoping to get some help with getting data off of a charge amplifier and onto a computer. I am attempting to collect chamber pressure data from a firearm using a Kistler 6215 piezoelectric strain gauge and 5018a charge amplifier connected to the computer via usb. Since I have no experience with LabView, I was using the example "Continuous serial write and read" file to communicate with the system. I have been able to connect to the charge amplifier and change the settings using the command box in LabView so I know I am communicating with my system, but I do not know how to get data from the piezoelectric sensor from the charge amplifier and onto my computer. The dialogue in the response box does not appear to be that of measured data. Any assistance or insight is greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,786 Views)

Hi James,

5018a charge amplifier connected to the computer via usb.

Unfortunately Kistler requires you to "register and login" to be able to read even the simplest datasheet.

So you need to read those manuals on your own…

The dialogue in the response box does not appear to be that of measured data.

You also hesitate to tell us the data you receive from that amplifier…

What kind of help do you expect with this little information?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,783 Views)

Generally when learning to use a new Computer Language, you first learn the Language and then you start to develop your application.  You seem to be doing this in the reverse order, perhaps because you've been told that "LabVIEW is so easy, you don't need to know anything to begin collecting data".