From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nested Events and Timed Loops

Ok, I'm pretty new at this, so forgive any incompetance. I've got a VI with a bunch of kinda complex loops in it. I got some help on these boards to get this far, but I'm afraid I've hit a few more snags. Here's what I'm trying to do: The user hits a "go" button to begin the loop sequence. It runs one loop for a given time (this works) then proceeds to run another loop for a second given time (this works as well). Here is where the snags come in. Inside that second loop I wanted to have an event structure that was based on a user controlled variable. The idea is basically that during the 30 seconds or so that the second loop is running, if they change a variable, then a motor will run for a time proportional to the change in the variable, and different directions based on if it was a positive or negative change. I thought I had this down. I put in an event structure that would go whenever the variable changed, did the logic, and created two while loops that would run the motor for a given time based on the logic. It doesn't work, and I'm not sure why. I think it's something to do with how I calcualted time, but it really could be anything. The third loop in the sequence has a timing that I'm really not sure how to approach, seeing as how I don't quite get the way that LabView handles variables. I want it to run for a time proportional to the value of the variable at the end of the previous loop, but I don't know how to get that value.