LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help setting up modbus

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to set up a modbus communication.

init_ser.PNG

If I understood correctly, here I set up the slave. SlaveId, ComMdb and BaudrateMdb are given by .init file earlier in the code. 

My problem is that when I use the "ReadMdb.vi" or similar ones the output registers only contain 0. I tried to retrieve execution codes to see if I could find what was the problem but it also returns 0.

I'm still a beginner with LabVIEW so it might be a simple mistake but I can't figure it out.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,429 Views)

What is the Slave ID for your device?

(I think the purple modbus library assumes 1.  But it is kind of buried in there.  It really should be made accessible on the connector panel for the initialization.  If yours is not 1, then you need to use a Set Unit ID property node.)

What register address did you put in the control and what quantity?  (Your VI is saved with default values of 0, so I don't know what you are actually entering.)

However, I'd expect you'd be getting an error if either of these things were wrong.  Are you SURE you aren't getting an error?  Put an indicator on that error wire.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(1,418 Views)

My slave ID is indeed 1. 

As for addresses :

data_log.PNG

This is part of a VI that allows me to send the ID of a log I want to retrieve, then the slave returns an array of data.

this is an example of the addresses and quantities that are put in the control.

I'm not getting any errors, was this what you meant for the location of the indicators ?

main.PNGread.PNGwrite.PNG

EDIT: I changed "New serial slave" to "New serial master" and it seems to work a bit now, i can connect to the slave and registers aren't just 0 now but still I don't get the data i'm looking for.