LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI-XNet Problems

Hello. I've been fiddling with this for some time now and can't seem to get this resolved. I'm quite new to LabView and completely new to CAN networks as well. Basically, I'm trying to get thermocouple data that is being carried on the CAN network into LabView for processing purposes. As of now, I'm just trying to get the signal into LabView, so the VI I attached is quite simple and therefore I'm hoping that my solution is very straightforward. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Hopefully once the signal is being read properly it won't be too difficult to get the necessary information from it. Also, I have checked my baud rate, CAN card, drivers, etc and I know the CAN is communicating because I can view the data I want real-time in another program on the computer, so I'm sure the problem sits somewhere between my computer and my seat. Thanks again!

Christian

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(4,558 Views)

Are you sure the problem is with CAN?  I suspect that if you replace your graph with a chart and move it inside the while loop, it might work.  If you don't understand why you need a chart, inside the while loop, consult the help and try running with execution highlighting (the light bulb icon") enabled.  If that doesn't fix it, start probing your code.  Do you ever get an error on any of the error wires?  Have you put a probe on the data output from X-Net Read?

Also there should be a wait of some sort inside the while loop, otherwise it will spin as fast as possible, consuming all your CPU time.  Since the CAN card will buffer a large number of packets and you're reading all available packets, there's no need to run that loop really fast.

It might also be helpful to use the CAN bus monitor in NI's Measurement and Automation Explorer, if you have that available, to see if your computer is properly receiving CAN packets from the remote device.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22