LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI VISA serial data communication

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am a student researcher working on creating a VI for data acquisition that uses an NI USB 6218 and a PC. We then transmit that data using an NI VISA serial driver, to a USB-attached serial interface, running at 230.4 kbps.  In the file attached to this post, the program returns an error indicating the application is not able to keep up with the hardware acquisition (Error -200279). Right now, the data is being collected continuously at a sample rate of 8 KHz, but we get the error at our desired sample rate of 12 KHz. In addition, after this VI runs for some time the obtain queue function returns an error saying that the application has run out of memory (error 2).

What component of the VI would be contributing to these errors? What is the maximum rate that data can be transferred using this configuration?  Is there another method we can use besides queues that will make it so that nothing overflows?  What instrumentation of our system can I use to determine why it is meeting our performance expectations?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,840 Views)

First, get rid of the express VI and use the DAQMx calls directly. As you have it written, you are aquiring an analog wave form and then getting a single value out of it and passing that via your queue. This will result in a software timed data aquisition. Why not read multiple samples and pass that to your other code for processing? Also, don't create the queue in every loop iteration. Obtain the queue reference outside of the loop. Why are you posting to the queue and then immediately dequeueing the value. That makes absolutely no sense. In fact, the entire use of the queue makes no sense.

Mark Yedinak
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours?"
Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald - Gordon Lightfoot