LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI-DAQ continuous logging while measuring frequency

Apologies in advance because I'm a seriously novice labview user.

I am using a labview script to do a number of things, one of which is to acquire 7 ADC channels from an NI-USB 6218.  6 of the channels are from a force-torque sensor and I'd like to log them continuously.  1 is from a tachometer which is still read as an analog signal even though it's a pulse.  The script was written by some students and some things about it didn't work, one of which was the tachometer measurement.  I was able to get it to work by using the single tone information VI, but I have to collect an adequately-long waveform to identify the frequency.  Meanwhile, I'm trying to continuously measure and log FT sensor data on the other channels.  Is there a clean way to either

1) acquire a large number of FT and tach samples and then sort the FT waveform data out, manipulate it (needs to be scaled and offset individually), and store all of the samples along with their waveform time data to a file

2) acquire a single set of samples at a time and collect the tach data to a waveform to be analyzed for frequency

I like option 2 better because the force logging works well with single-sample mode.  I hope I might be able to get suggestions without the code because I'd rather find out how to do it right than try to make this mess work.  Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,181 Views)

I like the attitude expressed in the last line of your code.

If you have not done so, please work through the on-line tutorials to get started with LV.

"Script" has a particular meaning in LV (an advanced topic) and it is unlikely that the program written by the students used LV scripting.  The appropriate terminology is "program" or "VI" with VI meaning Virtual Instrument. 

Now to your specific questions.