LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

.NET invoke node "set wavelength" function freezing LabVIEW

Hello LabVIEW community,

This is my first time posting to the forum.

Hardware: Newport Oriel CS 260 monochromator, NI MyDAQ, Hamamatsu HC 120-05 photomultiplier tube, Dell PC i5 with 8 gigs RAM

Software: LabVIEW 2017

This is my first time using LabVIEW. I am doing a project in my physical chemistry program to develop an interface for a Newport Oriel CS 260 monochromator to turn it into a scanning spectrometer. The end goal is to produce a high resolution spectrum of iodine vapor, but that is besides the point. I have completed the goal of developing the interface but I am running into one issue that I cannot figure out and neither can my professor who I am doing the project for. I am using a .NET invoke node to access the "set wavelength" function within a loop to create the ability of a scan. As the scan progresses it will inevitably freeze. When I select the Highlight Execution button to see what is going wrong I see that everything is fine except for the Set Wavelength invoke node. It is highlighted to show that data has flowed into it but nothing is flowing out. The two outputs, reference out and error out, are grey and the program is now frozen. I cannot abort execution of the VI, there is no error message, I must use task manager to end LabVIEW, then restart the program and the monochromator to attempt another scan.

As far as troubleshooting goes I have switched computers, which increased the average length of the scans I can achieve before freezing, but freezing is still inevitable. I have placed a time delay in the loop. I have tried switching the preferred execution system to user interface, this changes the nature of the crash. Instead of just freezing it causes the whole block diagram to grey out and a (not responding) appears at the top of the screen by the title of the VI.