From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Motion Controller Through Serial

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, 

I want to use labview to design user interface for controlling 3 axis motor. I have newmark NSC M3 E series motion controller and linear stage. 

When I use the company's software terminal, after giving the commands, the motor can successfully move, but when I give the commands in labview, it seems the commands written to the buffer cannot be read successfully. I attached my code screenshot, hope someone can give me some advice. 

3axis_motor.JPG

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,173 Views)

Hi.

I am a beginner as well however I would look at some of the VISA examples in labVIEW,If I had to do what you need to do !

You do  not need so many Visa writes I am quite sure about that.

I would think that you 

(1) Open Visa

(2) collect you're commands in a logical order the Controller needs then Write the string of commands to the Controller 

(3) loop through the sequence until you want to quit the program then Close the VISA resource and with a error dialog at the end of this Open ,Write,Close order of the VISA Vi's 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Learning is an endless process but needs to start some where
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(3,143 Views)

When you have a new device, always "play with it" using MAX first, as you can get immediate feedback on how your device works.