cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Memory management with C/C++ DLL

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there, 

sorry, I suspect this is a FAQ or explained *somewhere* but I was unable to find it. I am very new to LabView, my task is to write a C/C++ library to be used from a LabView VI. 

I found this helpful tutorial about managing pointers received from DLLs 

What I am trying to figure out is how memory allocated inside the DLL and passed to a LabView event is handled.

In the tutorial, I found:

int * ReturnAValue_PointerToInteger(void)

{

int *x = (int *) malloc(sizeof(int));

*x = 5;

return x;

}

The DLL allocates the pointer and passes it as a return value. It will be used after the function exits, so compellingly the VI is responsible for deleting it.

However we need to pass some more complex structures that are ideally compound (C structs):

struct MessageAccessStruct
{
   unsigned short messageHandle;
   LStrHandle accessAddress;
   LStrHandle accessValue;
   unsigned short accessResult;
};

So inside the DLL, such a struct is allocated with DSNewPtr, then the two LStrHandles are allocated with DSNewHandle and filled with data. After everything is set up, the struct will be passed using PostLVUserEvent()

As a C++ developer it makes me feel a bit uncomfortable to allocate memory and expect "someone else" to free it. However, I did not observe any crashes when de-allocating all pointers I allocated inside the DLL immediately after PostVLUserEvent returns. This may be a race condition or the way it is designed (i.e. PostVLUserEvent creates a copy of the data that is passed to the VI).

So my general question is: How does LabView determine which pointers passed from the DLL are in the responsibility of the VI/LabVIew environment and which are expected to be managed by the DLL?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,904 Views)

anyone?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,842 Views)