LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Manipulating DVR Data - Is this correct?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there,

I'm new to DVRs, but trying to incorporate them into my current project. My data is in a cluster, and some elements I want to change, while others I just want to use in a calculation or a setting. For the elements that I don't want to change, can I just unbundle them before the in-place-element (IPE) where I modify the elements that need modifying? Or will this create a copy of the entire cluster of data?

Also, regarding the swap values primitive, am I using that correctly? I understood that if you swap the old value with the new value, then it will be able to put the new value in the old value's memory space.

Thank you for any pointers Smiley Tongue you can give me on this topic!

DVR_Change_Data.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(4,492 Views)
Message 2 of 22
(4,470 Views)

Why do you want to use a DVR? Why bother with the swap? This looks like an unnecessary attempt at optimization.

The multiply operation reuses the top input, so you gain nothing from the swap - the operation is already in-place. Many unbundle-modify-bundle operations will also be automatically handled in-place by the compiler, so an IPE (and DVR) are unnecessary.

Message 3 of 22
(4,440 Views)

The code I attached is just an example, but the actual data is more complex, and I will not delete the DVR until the application closes.

Right now I am passing around my data using an FGV. By the end of a test the data has some large arrays, the size of one can be about 2000x20, and I thought it might be more efficient to use DVRs.

I am not too familiar with the Swap Values function. Should it only be used when the data being stored does not come from the unbundle node?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 22
(4,428 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Gregory

gregoryj wrote: