From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making one VI from two

Hey guys,

I am very new to labview, have never used it to interface with devices like the ones I am using here.

The project is to measure and control the position of a microscope and to capture images from a camera. I have a VI that controls position, and I have a VI that gets an image. Each of these from different sources. However, I would like to make one comprehensive VI that does everything the two individual VIs do. I tried "Merge VIs", but that gave me a lengthy list of errors in the new VI.

My question is: What is the best approach to doing this? I do not have to knowledge (yet) to rewrite either of these VIs because they seem complicated, so is there a way to combine these two Vis?

Working on windows 10, microscope is an Olympus, camera is X-Cite 120LED Boost. Please let me know if there is any other information that would be useful.

Thanks for any and all help, it is much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,711 Views)

Hi Andrew,

I can see how you misunderstood "merge VIs". What it actually is meant for is to merge 2 very similar VIs together. Imagine 2 people are editing the same VI, and when they are done, they don't want to lose any functionality, so they can merge the two VIs together and try to keep both of their changes. (easier said than done)