LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logging timer

Hey guys and girls

I am pretty new to labview and need some assistance. I want to be able to choose how often I want the data to be logged. If it is every second or every ten seconds. My next question is. When I start logging why is the graph delayed? As if it is too much for it to process? 

Thans alot

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,654 Views)

In your Program, you have a While loop with a DAQ Assistant (which gathers data and presents it for further processing, a series of Indicators (including two charts) which show the data, and a function (controlled by a Boolean called "Star Logging" -- I'm guessing the "t" is missing) to write the data to a Measurement File.

LabVIEW uses the Principle of Data Flow, which, among other things, says that the While loop cannot "loop" (and take more data, update its display, etc.) until everything in the loop that should run does run.  Initially, with Logging off, you only had acquisition and display in the loop.  Now you turn Logging on, which (at least the first time, when files are opened) adds additional steps that much be completed before the While loop can finish and start the next "loop".  Hence the apparent slowdown (it's not "apparent" -- you just need more time to do these things in a serial fashion).

Bob Schor

Message 2 of 7
(3,624 Views)

Hey Bob!

Thanks for the answer. Appreciate it alot.