LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Load Cell Voltage

Hi everyone!

I am new to Labview and I am working on creating a VI that displays force values from a load cell that has been installed in an industrial tool. The signal is being carried from the load cell into a PC by a NI-9237 module and USB carrier. I created a custom linear scale and virtual channel (Custom Voltage w/ Excitation) in the VI based upon the manufacturer's calibration profile.

I have run into a problem where the waveform graph that is produced during data acquisition is indicating that the applied force is exceeding the capacity of the load cell. To confirm this I have recorded the voltage output at the load cell and within the labview program. What I have found is that the voltage signals do not match!!! For example while under a constant load, I will measure a voltage of 0.013 Volts with a multimeter, however the Labview VI indicates that the measured voltage is 0.029 Volts.

Does anyone have any thoughts why there would be an inaccuracy in the recorded voltage?

Thanks,

-JME

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,773 Views)

Is it configured as single or double ended?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,761 Views)

The 9237 does not output a voltage.  It outputs a mv/V signal so comparing it directly with a DMM will not work as the output is a function of your exictation voltage.  Take a look at the Bridge- Coninuous Input.vi in the example finder (Help> Find Examples>Hardware Input and Output>DAQmx>Analog Input).  You will need to have some information about your sensor.  

Lukin
Certified LabVIEW Architect
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,735 Views)

Lukin,

I am using a Honeywell Model 31 load cell with an output of ~2 mV/V. I used the exact output from the calibration profile to create the custom scale in the VI with an excitation voltage of 10V per Honeywell.

Best,

JME

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(3,690 Views)