From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Level Control with PID Control & Pulse-Width Modulation

Hi all,

I have attached my program which I'm having trouble wiring up in the block diagram.... I'm fairly new to labview, but basically I have a level control project with an analog input cistern arm turning a pot for my test tank (configured as DAQ assistant voltage analog i/p) and a pump working off a reservoir (configured as DAQ assistant voltage digital o/p). My electrical side of things is working correctly and I have tested both DAQ assistants I/O's successfully off a basic program, minus the PID & PWM... I found a simple PID control subvi which I think I have wired up correctly, apart from the output variable... I also found a bit of code for PWM using the square waveform vi (far right side of the program) which I have tried to include in the program, but I've been unsuccessful with that. The ideal operation i'm looking for with this project is to be able to enter different values for the setpoint, for the PID to kick in to find that setpoint each time using the PWM to drive the pump, which has a flow rate of 13L/min. I have a manual valve to release water from my test tank which I can set accordingly.

My questions are;

- How do I connect the 'output variable' of the PID subvi to my DAQ assistant digital output(both DAQ assistants are set at 1 sample on demand)?

I have a 'number to boolean array' function, but this gives an error saying that the number of tasks generated are not the same...

- How do I wire up the PWM bit of code? Do I need to include the 'error in & out' tabs?

-Am I on the right track with this program or am I way off the mark?!