LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview interface with micro contoller

Solved!
Go to solution

i am new to labview. I need to know whether DAQ card is needed to interface with micro controller? if no need then any one can you explain how to inter face microcontroller 89c51 with Labview...... if needed then explain how to interface?

JAGADESAN ASOKAN

J@G@De5@N
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,485 Views)

Hi jagadees put more details.

Are you communicating with the microcontroller or reading digital signals from it???

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(3,478 Views)

Need to communicating,

My application is monitoring irrigation system, need to control it by using Labview.

Then get data from microcontroller and display.Then instruct labview to microcontroller Regarding Setpoint and some other datas......                                                                    

J@G@De5@N
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(3,459 Views)

In general, no, you don't need a DAQ, because in your case, the uC is the DAQ. Your challenge is to set up an interface between the computer and the uC (whether using LabVIEW or anything else).

In my opinion, the easiest way to accomplish that is to set up a serial interface with the uC, and use LabVIEW to control / read the uC serially using VISA. This would require the least amount of hardware and least cost. I2C, if available, is also a way to go if you have the interface.

Richard

Message 4 of 17
(3,447 Views)

What hardware do you have to work with?  Is it an eval board with a couple of interfaces (serial, USB, etc)?  Or are you designing the hardware and considering how to interface with it?

We'll need more info to help with the LabVIEW side.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 17
(3,423 Views)

Hi