From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview command-line interface

Hi,

I have another simple Labview question.   I am trying to determine if Labview is suitable for my purposes.  I have no data acquisiton needs and Labview was suggested to me as a language for GUI development.  I am going to start learning Labview to give it a fair shake for GUI development, because I have some experience in C# and Java.  However, the graphical programming aspect of Labview might be advantageous.  My question is Can Labview be used to develop a command-line application?

Thanks for your help,

Will
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(6,022 Views)
It can be, although the overhead may not be what you want. In order for a LabVIEW application to run it requires the LabVIEW Runtime Engine to be installed. Loading this up and then starting your application will be noticeable, especially if your command-line application is supposed to be simple. What does your command-line application do?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(6,016 Views)
The application takes calculated data from a FORTRAN subroutine.  Several calls are made and the data is organized (possibly in Labview).  Once organized, text output files are outputted to consolidate the runs.  Currently, Labview is used to produce a GUI interface.  However, it might be useful to create a CLI interface also for testing.  The CLI program can be easily scripted using batch files or a makefile.  This application has no data acquisition.

Will
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(6,003 Views)
OK, so you just need a command-line version of the application you already have? LabVIEW has an application method that allows you to get the command-line arguments passed into a LabVIEW app: