cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview Synthesiser: Problem outputting sound via MacBook soundcard

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all!

First time posting here, hopefully i'm in the right section of the forum. Anyway, i'm a part time student and currently studying a module on Labview in university. As a mini project i decided to build a synth using Labview. I've it mostly built but i'm having a bit of trouble outputting sound to the soundcard. I'm also having a bit of trouble getting the waveforms to play for a longer time period.

I was sort of copying the setup of one of the example VIs (generating sound vi i think) and another vi i found online but i can't seem to get mine to work using my synth design. I've two problems, one is that the waveform only plays for a very short time but the main problem is that i'm getting an error (error 4803) saying the soundcard cannot accomodate the specified configuration but as far as i can see my setup is more or less the same as the generating sound vi (which works on my fine macbook). Obviously i'm missing something so i decided to come on here and ask for help.

I'm guessing the datatype connected to my sound output configure vi could be causing a problem since it has a red dot on the input terminal. Any suggestions on how i should fix this? 

I've my vi attached. Any help would be appreciated!

Cheers! 

Edit: I've already fixed the error 4803 problem. Had to change the input to the sound output configure sub vi. Now i just have to figure out how to get the sound to play for longer. Any ideas anyone?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,736 Views)

What changes did you make to eliminate the 4803 error?

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,717 Views)

I kind of cheated with that one. For some reason the "Format" cluster i have connected to the sound output configure sub vi seemed to be the wrong data type. I had the numeric controls set as follows:

Rate - DBL

Channels - I32

Bits - I32