LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview FPGA: how to change array size in a loop without generating errors

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, guys! I'm new to labview fpga. Basically I would like to build a VI for convolution. However in fpga it seems like the Array size can not be changed at all. My VI works fine in the main VI but it just keep reporting errors in fpga. So how to actually insert elements into Arrays in a for loop. Or how to build a VI for convolution in fpga. Thank you very much! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,818 Views)

Hi rwthybw,

Or how to build a VI for convolution in fpga.

Use fixed-sized arrays - the FPGA only supports them. Point.

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,813 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author rwthybw

Hi rwthybw,

Could you use the on-board memory for your FPGA device instead of an array?

Steve

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,805 Views)

this is the first part, however I eventually would like to perform discrete wavelet transform in fpga which requires decimation. I can use fixed-size in convolution but the decimation will definitely to change the array size.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(2,786 Views)

Hi! I didnt try yet, I will do it. And could you shortly describe the function of the Memory in fpga ? Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(2,785 Views)

This is good starting point for FPGA Memory Items.

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 9
(2,783 Views)

Can you explain why you need to insert elements into arrays to perform a convolution? There are efficient in-place algorithms. Can you show us what you are doing, i.e. some simplified code? Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 7 of 9
(2,766 Views)

Hi! I'm sorry my Supervisor told me I'm not allowed to upload the code online, though I don't think what I'm doing is classified.