From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabView algorithm state of charge determination

Hi!

I'm very new to LabView and currently trying to make an algorithm determining state of charge in a battery for one of my classes. Unfortunately I've stumbled upon some obstacles in making the LabView code. For the first time I can't find the solutions anywhere, so you guys are my last resort, hopefully you can help me:(. Here are the things I don't really know how to solve;

1. How to get a percentage value out of voltage measurement where 13.5V equals to 100% and 10.5 equals 0% where there is a linear correlation between these "points". Then depending on what voltage reading I get make it the percentage value.

2. Measuring current multiple times and how to sample these readings and calculate the average value.

3. How to make an equation where I have to integrate the average current over time in the equation.

These points should be connected to get a value of the battery state of charge. All the help I can get is very very welcome!

Message 1 of 8
(2,893 Views)

Hi chyrren,

when you are "new to LabVIEW" (as can be seen by the way you spell LabVIEW) you should take note of those "Training resources" offered in the header of this LabVIEW board…

1. This is a simple linear interpolation:

percentage := (input - min) / (max - min) * 100

You already gave the min/max values, so this equation is rather easy to implement!

(When you have done this you might also read the help for Threshold1DArray, which does a very similar job.)

2. Have you noticed that Example finder coming with LabVIEW? When you use a DAQmx device to read your current data then you should examine some of those DAQmx example VIs…