LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW vs. Python for Test Automation

I've been using LabVIEW for almost a decade. I lead a fairly large test automation project. I use NI Actor Framework and NI TestStand API in this LabVIEW project. I was able to put together a user-friendly and aesthetically pleasing GUI with smart UI logic and capability to create complex test sequences with many concurrent loops interacting with one another in a relatively short period of time. 

I can't imagine doing what I did with text-based languages as quickly. Granted, I have limited experience with text-based programming languages. Undergraduate level experience with C, Java and Python. But even if I was very proficient in, say, Python, I feel LabVIEW would be much more efficient for what I'm doing. I've read many comments from text-based language programmers about how much LabVIEW 'sucks'. Many times, I can tell their LabVIEW skills are simply low and don't know what they are doing wrong. You see as much as you know.

Now I would really like to hear what people who are experienced with both sides think.