LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW string encryption

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone, I am kind of new to LabVIEW and I have been assigned to update an old project in which there is a VI for decoding encrypted string however the encryption VI seems to be missing.

I have attampted to guess the encyption algorithm based on the decryption VI below but nothing worked for me yet.

Decrypt.png

I am starting to run out of ideas, any help on this meter is much appreciated.

Regards.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,620 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author kuroro_W

Hi kuroro,

@kuroro_W wrote:

I have attampted to guess the encyption algorithm based on the decryption VI below but nothing worked for me yet.

What have you attempted?

Can you upload your VI?

Can you provide example data of encrypted strings with known "decoded" results?

This VI does:

1. Delete the last byte.
  2. Decimate into 2 byte streams.
  3. For each pair of bytes: Decrement the 2nd byte and subtract the decremented value from 1st byte.
  4. Reverse the resulting byte array.

So the encryption should:

1. Reverse the string/byte array.
  2. For each byte b0 in this array find two bytes b1/b2 where b0=b1-b2+1.
  3. Interleave the b1/b2 byte arrays.
  4. Add one more byte to get the encrypted string.

A simple implementation might look like this:

I simply set b2=1 to fulfill the decoding condition…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,605 Views)

Hi!

If You are new to LabVIEW, You might want to check out some online learning resources to get started. If You hover over a function and activate the context help (Ctrl+H), You can read a short description of the function and get a link to a more detailed help page.

What have You tried? Were You able to identify all parts of the code?