LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW not detecting DAQ USB6009

Hi,

A short introduction. I am having my internship in Australia where I am doing a project whereby thrust produced by the propeller has to be measured. From much research it seems that an option is to use a load cell and then getting readings from LabVIEW. However, I am very new to LabVIEW and even propellers (also my first time posting on a forum) as I am not an Aerospace or Mechatronics undergraduate but and Electrical student. I faced some problems while trying to test for thrust as below: 

1) I have connected the circuit from load cell to instrumentation amplifier module to the NI DAQ USB 6009. I am not sure if my connections are correct. I have attached pics of how I connected, the schematic of the Instrumentation Amplifier Module and the pin that the WheatStone Bridge would be connected to on the Module.

PIN 1: Output to DAQ

PIN 3: V- 

PIN 4: V+ (Power Source of 10V)

PIN 5: GND

PIN 7&8: Excitation Voltage

PIN 10: Wheatstone bridge V+ 

I connected JP6 which is 10V for Excitation voltage and JP1 for 1000 gain range.

This is the link to the load cell that Im using, with the wire colour code: http://www.process-controls.com/intertechnology/Revere_Transducers/pdfs/BSP.pdf

Could I also ask what is the Shield wire (transparent) for?

2) With this circuit connection,  I tried LabVIEW. However when I click the 'Force(bridge)' choice, it shows that 'no supported devices found' (as shown in attached pic1) as many Youtube video chose force when dealing with load cell. But when I tried 'Strain', it showed my device an its Analog input choices (as shown in attached pic2). Is this because there is a connection error in my circuit or are there any other reasons for this?