LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LINX + Startup Executable

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to the Makerhub/LINX concept and the moderators on the LabviewMakerhub.com forum either have decided that my question is too basic to post or no one is looking at new posts at all.

Anyways

I wanted to confirm one thing: if I want to use startup executable (Local I/O with startup executable according to LINX architecture FAQ) I need an unit that supports an OS. Is that correct?

Two examples of platforms provided on the website are BeagleBone or Raspberry Pi. Are there any other that can be used in startup executable mode?

regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,783 Views)

Hello Niklasson,

I am sorry to hear you are stuck with your question for some time already.

Maybe I can provide some insight, however I am not sure if I understand your question fully.

In general, your hardware indeed needs to run an OS; most (all?) are Linux-based. Every OS I know can launch a third-party application (here: your LabVIEW application) on system start-up. Main question is if your development environment can set up such an automatic startup automated, or if you have to do it manually.

Two examples of platforms provided on the website are BeagleBone or Raspberry Pi. Are there any other that can be used in startup executable mode?

Which webpage exactly are you referring to? Raspberry is a piece of hardware that support different OS's, e.g. Raspbian, Ubuntu Mate, CentOS, gentoo, Kali, OpenWRT, OctoPi etc. Therefore I wonder if that sentence you quoted means to refer to default Raspbian only.

if I want to use startup executable [...] I need an unit that supports an OS. Is that correct?

This is the part I don't fully understand. My answer would be "yes, you need an OS on your unit", but I am sure that's not what you wanted to know. Could you please help me to understand by rephrasing your question?