LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LED Menorah

I am fairly new to LabVIEW and am thinking about teaching the CLAD course in the Oklahoma City area. I am half way through the LabVIEW core 1 and core 2 tutorials and I thought that it would be a good idea to stop and work on an actual project. Last year I volunteered my time with a group of friends from a local synagogue to replace the candles on our outside menorah with LED's. I gave them a number of options, including a LabVIEW program to control the LED's. Unfortunately they did not choose the LabVIEW approach, but after prototyping it I realized it was a great exercise which demonstrates the control of the digital outputs of a USB-6009. It is fairly similar to an existing example but I try to explain in some detail what the sub vi's do and discuss optional approaches to achieve a similar result. I also include a schematic and explanation of how to choose external resistors to achieve a desired current flow given the usb-6009 specification and basic electronic principals.  

I am attaching a write-up along with the actual vi. If anyone has other simple projects to demonstrate the input/outputs of a daq device that can be used in a classroom setting I'd be interested in hearing from you.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,342 Views)

That is an excellent goal. No better way to learn than by teaching! But definately check with the NI Training And Certification center. I think you have to be a certified instructor in order to teach classes. From the link above:

NI Certified Professional Instructor (CPI) certification distinguishes individuals who are authorized to teach NI courses and ensures that a CPI meets professional standards when teaching these courses. Besides National Instruments engineers, CPIs are the only professionals authorized to teach NI courses, and they typically teach regional courses in an NI Authorized Training Center.