LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Iterating a For Loop on an array index, and repeating

I have a seemingly simple task, but I am new to LabView and visual programming:

I want to write a loop that iterates for each element in an array, and then starts over again.  It will feed into a case structure.  In textual programming, it would look something like this:

For each "element(i=1:3)" in "array(1DX3E)";
If "element(i)" < n, multiply by a;
If "element(i)" <m and >n, multiply by b;
If "element(i)" >m, multiply by c
end "for"

While "Start" = true, repeat for loop

From a beginner's perspective, the for loop only seems iterable on a constant, for instance I could say repeat 3 times, but this is not indexing to the unique element of the array.  Is there an elegant way to do this in LV 8 without going from an array to a cluster, un-bundling it, and then writing 3 different case structures????????  This is what I have now and it is rather obtuse!

Thanks for any input,
Brad
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,279 Views)
The number of times a for loop iterates can be determined either by wiring a value (constant or calculated) to the N terminal or by wiring auto-indexing arrays into the loop. Normally, if you wire an array into the loop (it has to come from outside) it will be automatically auto-indexing and you will have to disable it if you don't want it to be. This should give you exactly what you want. Note that if you have several arrays, the loop will iterate only to the size of the smallest array.

To learn more about LabVIEW, I suggest you try searching this site and google for LabVIEW tutorials. Here and here are a couple you can start with and here are some tutorial videos. You can also contact your local NI office and join one of their courses.
In addition, I suggest you read the LabVIEW style guide and the LabVIEW user manual (Help>>Search the LabVIEW Bookshelf).

Here is a literal translation of your code. 😄