From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to change indicator/control depending on enum?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all. I'm rather new to LabView, and I'm trying to make a program for a robot that can be run virtual, so without a DAQ or anything connected, and thus has input toggles. But it should also be able to run "real", so with the DAQ, and thus the controls should be changed to indicators. Is there a way to do this or not?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(3,233 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jdepypere

@jdepypere wrote:

Hi all. I'm rather new to LabView, and I'm trying to make a program for a robot that can be run virtual, so without a DAQ or anything connected, and thus has input toggles. But it should also be able to run "real", so with the DAQ, and thus the controls should be changed to indicators. Is there a way to do this or not?

Not as long as your VI is running. You can, though, do that using VI scripting.

https://decibel.ni.com/content/message/39353

Br,

/Roger

Message 2 of 21
(3,227 Views)

Hmm seems a little bit too complicated for a simple use, I'll just leave it as it is, the inputs should be updated every 10ms anyway so if a button is clicked it shouldn't have too much influence..

Thanks for the fast reply!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(3,224 Views)

Without seeing your code, it is hard to tell. Perhaps you should have two "input" modules (subVIs), one for manual input with the boolean switches and another for the DAQ inputs.  Then your robot control panel has a toggle switch to choose which input source will be used at any given time.  This can be operated at run time and each of the input subVIs can be optimized for the purpose.