LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is Case structure what I need (newbie)

I'm attempting to write a VI to control a multi zone furnace. The board(s) used to control the furnace take about 25 different commands.

I'll be sending commands (strings) over a serial port. Commands take differing arguments so there are variable inputs for concatenating

a string into a valid command before writing to the serial port. Further complicating things, each string includes a checksum at the end.

Currently users are expecting to select a command (in simple english, not what is sent over the port) and provide added info based on

the command. I then gather this up, format a string that the board understands and write it to the port.

I'm guessing the Case structure is what I should be using. But as far I can tell (I'm a newbie so I can't sure of much), for each case in the

structure it appears that the inputs to the concatenation have to be the same in type, order and number. I keep getting errors if I attempt

to use a Case structure where one case uses 2 strings to concatenate into a command, another uses 5 strings etc. I get unwired element

errors.

Is the Case structure limited in the way I'm seeing or is there a way around this (something a newbie doesn't know)?

Or is there a different structure I should be using?

I've attached 2 VIs (both are just baby steps at this point, the "bad" is expecting more strings than there are).

Any advice would really help.

Thanks,

Dave

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,059 Views)

Since you are just concatinating strings, just output empty strings out of those cases that shouldn't have that input.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,056 Views)