LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interfacing a Phantom Desktop haptic device with LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

I am currently using a compact RIO 9022  with Ni-9514 C-series modules to control the motion of a machine with multiple axes. As of now, I have used the SoftMotion module to create motion programs. 

Now I have inherited a Phantom Desktop haptic device by Sensable Inc. (now Geomagic) and I would like to use it to control two of the axes of the machine and also to feed back forces that I measuring using two load cells. 

So I need to interface the Phantom device to LabVIEW. I have read some things about .dll files and importing C++ functions into LabVIEW to do this, but I have no experience with C++ and I don't know where to start. 

Could anyone help get me started? 

Message 1 of 22
(4,748 Views)

Do you have a .dll file provided with your device? Do you have the function prototypes (typically a .h file)?

What information do you have to program your device?

Marc Dubois
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(4,722 Views)

Hi Marc,

I do have .dll files. A few .dll files came with the installation of the haptic device drivers, but have no .h file with them so I don't know how to find out what functions there are in the .dll. 

I also downloaded the OpenHaptics Software Development Toolkit from the same company, which is a C/C++ environment used to create virtual environments to interact with, and there are many .dll in there too (sometimes with .lib files). But I don't know which of those may be relevant to my application, which is to communicate with a machine in a master/slave configuration rather than to interact with a virtual environment. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 22
(4,714 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author iacopo.russo