LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Improving Action Engine

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to the use of action engines in my code and am hoping to learn and improve my use of action engines. The first one I have created is to control a set of relays which will open and close air-operated valves using the NI 9474. I was hoping that I could get some general feedback on DOs and DONTs with this action engine and that it will help me with future creation of AEs for my code. What should I be doind differently from an efficiency standpoint, etc?

Thanks.

I have attached the VI.

Valves_AE.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,365 Views)

Just from the picture, I would say your biggest issue is that you should have the Init case create the DAQmx Task, initialize the digital outputs, and then store the task reference in a shift register.  Then you only need the list of channels at the initialization and you are not constantly creating and destroying a reference to the same IO.

And you should also have all of your outputs on the outside of the case structure.  There is a thread floating around called "Clear As Mud" that goes throught specifics of why.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,362 Views)

Would you then create a case to destroy the reference that you call upon ending the execution of your main vi?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,346 Views)

Yes, If you are going to have an AE handle this functionality then you should have it handle the functionality for all possible use cases. Especially as it seems from your picture that you at no stage pass a reference to any of this out of the AE.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(4,329 Views)

This might be a tad off topic...