LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Import Shared Library Wizard .so file

I'm new to the import shared library wizard and I'm trying to import a .so library we've made to run on our MyRIO. I can add the .so file to our vi just fine manually, but when I try to do it using the wizard, I only get the option to select .dll files. The help documentation for the wizard says it can use .dlls, .framework, and .so libraries. Is this a consequence of using Windows for the development, but having a linux target? If I install LabView in a linux virtual machine, will I be able to use the wizard with .so? 

For context, this is a necessary step because we do our algorithm development in Matlab. If anyone has a suggestion for a better workflow for compiling Matlab functions to run on a MyRIO, we're all ears! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,143 Views)

Windows does not provide functions to load a so file and even less for a framework . Frameworks are under the hood a directory structure but the Macintosh finder will display them as a file object and not let a user move into it.

Accordingly the import library wizard can only work with the shared library format for the platform it is running on.

In order to install LabVIEW for Linux you will need a valid installer and unless you are at an university with an educational site license that’s a full purchase as your LabVIEW for Windows license does not give you access to this. Besides LabVIEW for Linux is an Intel 64-bit compiled version and the import library wizard won’t be able to use your so library either since it needs to be compiled for ARM in order to run on the myRIO. You could get Matlab code builder to also create an x64 version of the so and then it would work.