LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use Labview to control motorized stage??

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm new to Labview and doing a project which requires using labview to control motorized stage(XYZ axis). I need to use Labview programming and have no clue at all. Looking for help, Thanks a lot!!

Lei,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,786 Views)
Learn Labview basics: http://www.ni.com/getting-started/labview-basics/
-refer links in Selecting a Stage and Motion Controller for Your Automation Application : http://www.ni.com/product-documentation/4031/en/
-Fundamentals in Motion Control :http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3367/en/
Thanks
uday
Message 2 of 7
(7,771 Views)

Is it a specific XYZ stage that you have been given for the project?  If so, tell us what it is and there's a chance you can see code someone else has used to control those stages.

However, just in general this board isn't meant for raw beginners.  Read some of the "getting started" links, maybe watch some tutorial videos, try writing some code, and then if you can't figure it out, come back here and post the code you made along with an explanation of what you can't get to work.  Basically, if you don't at least try to help yourself, we won't try very hard to help you back.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(7,753 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Labviewfastlearn

Everything said by the others is correct and needs to be done as they describe at some point. But I've always approached these motion control projects by first looking at the "motion controller" (hopefully you have one) and "motor drivers" (which you must have) between the computer/LabVIEW and the motors and deciding what communications will be needed to those devices and get a feel for the command syntax and language to be used with them.  In some cases the motion controller and motor driver are integrated into a single unit. Heck, in some cases they are even integrated with each motor.