From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use LabVIEW to collect Temperature vs Frequency data in a Tunnel Diode Reasonator experiment?

Hello fellow NI forum users. I am currently working on a Tunnel Diode Resonator experiment. We are currently using a Lake Shore 350 Temperature controller with Cernox thermometers and a BK Precision 1832A Frequency counter and are needing to put together a LabVIEW program to collect Temperature and Frequency data, give an output graph, and save the data list to a .txt file from this equipment. This program must also control the change in temperature. I am pretty new to LabVIEW and therefore do not know exactly how to go about either meshing the monitoring programs we are already running or to create a whole new program. My thought is put our current programs in a loop as sub VI’s and take the output values (T and F) to create the chart and collect the data. However, this program must control the T of the experiment as well. Currently we have to manually change and tune T by using a temperature controller program and the PID loops. So this change in T actually comes from the amount of heater power we are putting in. Therefore, the goal would be for example: to choose to collect 500 (frequency and temperature) data points along the way from say a chosen heater output value from 0-40% on Range 4 or 5. This data then would display in a graph as well as in a data list and after we could then save the information to a .txt file. If someone could give me guidance if I’m headed in the right direction on using some of what we already have as sub VI’s in some kind of loop or if I need to rethink the direction I’m headed. Also in the same program If someone could give me ad