LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use Extech Instruments model 407123 with Labview 7.1

Solved!
Go to solution

I am pretty new to Labview.  With the help of this forum I was able to configure my DAQpad 6020E with my Labview 7.1.

Now I am looking at using an Extech Instruments Hot Wire Thermo-Anemometer (407123) in my experiment and running it through Labview.  Based on my research, I was led to believe that I should use the Instrument Assistant I/O and NI-Visa, but I am having a lot of difficulties.  First off, the Thermo-anemometer is wired for RS232 and I have it connected to an RS232 to USB converter, which is then plugged into my computer.  I have the driver for the converter.  When I plug the thermo-anemometer into my computer, MAX reads it as a serial port and it is listed as COM3.  MAX claims that the device is working properly.  However, when I run Labview's Instrument Assistant I/O, and tell it to read data I get a bff0015 error and it says that the device timed out.  I have tried changing the time and I still get the same error.  I am assuming this means that Labview and my device are not communicating.

I have seen some mention of instrumentation drivers, but I haven't been able to find any for my particular device.  I am assuming that is the root of my problem, and that if I had an instrument driver to run my device in Labview that it would work properly.  So here are my questions.

1)  What do I need to take data from a third party thermo-anemometer in Labview?

2)  Am I correct in thinking I need some sort of instrument driver?  And if so, where could I find one (I have already searched for one and did not find it)?

3)  Is it possible and practical to take data through Labview from a DAQpad and a third party instrument at the same time?

4)  Are there any guides or tutorials I could use that may show me how to accomplish what I'm trying to do?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(5,483 Views)

Hi,